Drinkaware Trustees

Drinkaware's Board of Trustees are from a broad range of professional backgrounds. Read about them here.

Sir Leigh Lewis



Sir Leigh Lewis KCB,  has been Chair of the Drinkaware Trust since 2014. Sir Leigh had a distinguished Civil service career, serving as the Permanent Secretary for Crime, Policing and Counter Terrorism in the Home Office and as Permanent Secretary at the Department for Work and Pensions. He was also the first Chief Executive of JobCentre Plus.


Since his retirement, Sir Leigh has served as the Chair of the Government’s Bill of Rights Commission and holds non-executive appointments at Aviva UK PLC and the Ombudsman Services.


He is also a member of the PwC Advisory Board, a Visiting Fellow at the University of Greenwich Business School and Vice-Chair of the homelessness charity, St Mungo’s.

Penny Newman OBE

Finance & HR Committee


Penny was awarded the OBE for services to ethical business in 2008 in recognition of her work as Chief Executive of a number of ethical businesses including the Accession Social Enterprise CIC, Platform 51 (now the Young Women’s Trust), the Jamie Oliver Foundation, and the Fairtrade organisation Cafédirect.

In 2011, Penny was appointed Social Enterprise Ambassador by the Cabinet Office and she is also a Trustee of the Cafedirect Producers Foundation.

Vicki Nobles

Finance & HR Committee


Vicki held a number of senior corporate roles in the alcohol industry in the UK and USA before her retirement  from the Corporate Relations Director role at Diageo in 2012.

Vicki was a representative on the Steering Group of the Government’s Public Health Responsibility Deal and played a key role in the Alcohol Network.

Vicki was a director of non-profit organisation the British Brands Group and a member of the alcohol working group of  Incorporated Society of British Advertisers. (ISBA).

Timothy Walker

Research & Impact Committee Chair, Member of Risk & Audit Committee


Timothy has held a number of senior executive roles including Executive Director of the Financial Reporting Council, Director General of the Health and Safety Executive and Deputy Chairman, HM Customs and Excise.

Timothy brings extensive non-executive experience in the public, private and non-profit sectors and retains his membership of the research strategy committee of Prostate Cancer UK. He was a Fellow of both the Institution of Engineering and Technology and the Institute of Physics and has taught at universities in the UK and United States.

Kate Morris

Finance & HR Committee Chair/Trust Treasurer/Member of Risk & Audit Committee


Kate has 20 years' worth of experience as a finance professional, working in the retail, public and voluntary sectors and is currently Director of Finance & Resources at Volunteering Matters. She is a qualified accountant and associate member of CIMA. Kate spent 10 years at the British Heart Foundation, as Head of Group Finance, and previously worked for the National Crime Agency and Marks and Spencer as part of their finance teams. She also has an MSc in Charity Accounting and Financial Management from CASS Business School

Dr Paul Nelson

Research & Impact Committee Member


A former adviser to the Department of Health, Paul is the founder of public health consultancy PHRISK, a director of  the Public Health Action Support Team (PHAST), and Managing Director of Guidepost.net. Paul is a Research Fellow in the University of Edinburgh’s Deanery of Molecular, Genetic & Population Health Sciences.

Dr Christopher Spencer Jones


Christopher had a distinguished 26 year career in public health. He was Director of Public Health at NHS South Birmingham for 11 years before setting up the Birmingham Cross City CCG, and working for Public Health England on the implementation of the 2012 Health & Social Care Act.

As as Chair of the BMA’s UK Public Health Committee from 2005-2008,  Christopher played a prominent role in developing public health policy in England. 

David Ward

Risk & Audit Committee Chair


David is currently Regulatory, Ethics and Compliance Director at Tesco PLC and has been with the retailer for over decade holding a number of roles including UK Legal Director, Senior Counsel and Government Affairs Manager and Head of Licensing.

A qualified solicitor, David’s earlier career included a number of legal roles with law firms Shearman & Sterling LLP and CMS Cameron McKenna.


Charles Allen


Charles has been Arsenal Football Club PLC's Head of Marketing since 2010.  Prior to this, Charles spent 17 years at Diageo, holding a number of commercial and marketing roles and working both globally and in specific overseas markets.  Charles is a Governor at the Bedford School for Boys where he oversees the school’s marketing and external affairs strategy and has been a mentor with the Marketing Academy, developing the marketing leaders of the future, since 2014. 

Paul Wells


Paul Wells is a Director and Chairman at Charles Wells Ltd, the Bedford-based independent pub and brewing business. Paul joined the family-run company in the 1980's after training in hotel and catering and has worked in a wide variety of roles at the company spanning the brewing, retail and commercial operations. Paul has been a Council member of the British Beer & Pub Association (BBPA) since 1998 and was Chair of the Independent Family Brewers of Britain from 2006 to 2014. He is currently a Warden of the Worshipful Company of Brewers in the City and non-executive chairman of Muntons Plc.

Neil Williams


Neil Williams is the current Head of GOV.UK and has almost 20 years’ worth of experience in developing strategic web based and digital communications.  Before joining GOV.UK in 2011, Neil spent five years at both the Department for Communities and Local Government, where he launched the first blog by a UK Cabinet Minister, and the Department for Business Innovation and Skills where he drove the redevelopment of website and intranet platforms.  Neil has been an advisor on the Boards of the NHS.Uk Digital Transformation Programme and the Police.uk Digital Public Contact programme and is the winner of a Civil Service award for Leadership. 

live chat

Chat with an advisor